Five more states join EU sanctions against Russia


Montenegro, Albania, Norway, Georgia and Ukraine have aligned the decision made by the EU on restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by Russia.

Censor.NET reports citing a press statement by the Council of the European Union.

Read more: It's a resolute message of unity and solidarity in support of Ukraine, - Poroshenko on stiffer Russia sanctions adopted by Senate

"On 19 June 2017, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2017/1087.

"The Council Decision extends the restrictive measures until 23 June 2018.

"The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Declaration.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

"The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it," the statement reads.

Read more: US Senate supported more Russia sanctions

In 2014, the European Union, the United States and several other countries imposed sanctions against Russia following its occupation of Crimea and aggression in eastern Ukraine. These restrictive measures were repeatedly extended and expanded. In particular, the talks on visa waiver and a new basic agreement on cooperation were suspended; several Russia's officials were banned to travel to the EU while their assets were attached. Trade, financial, and military restrictions were introduced.Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n449521