Related materials:

 EU extends sanctions against Russia over occupied Crimea for 12 months


The restrictive measures over Russia's occupation will be in effect until at least June 23, 2018.

The Council of the European Union has extended the restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by Russia for another 12 months, Censor.NET reports citing UNIAN correspondent in Brussels.

Read more: US plans to keep Russia "sanctions strong and tough," - Haley

The decision was made at a Foreign Affairs Council meeting in Luxembourg on Monday, June 19, 2017. The sanctions will be in effect until June 23, 2018.

The extension of the measures was approved on June 6 by COREPER (French: Comité des représentants permanents), or the Committee of Permanent Representatives in the European Union.

The measures apply to EU persons and EU based companies. They are limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol.

The sanctions include prohibitions on imports of products originating in Crimea or Sevastopol into the EU; investment in Crimea or Sevastopol, meaning that no Europeans nor EU-based companies can buy real estate or entities in Crimea, finance Crimean companies or supply related services; tourism services in Crimea or Sevastopol, in particular, European cruise ships cannot call at ports in the Crimean peninsula, except in case of emergency.

They are also applicable to exports of certain goods and technologies to Crimean companies or for use in Crimea in the transport, telecommunications and energy sectors and related to the prospection, exploration and production of oil, gas and mineral resources. Technical assistance, brokering, construction or engineering services related to infrastructure in these sectors must not be provided either.

Read more: US Senate approves extended sanctions against Russia

In 2014, the European Union, the United States and several other countries imposed sanctions against Russia following its occupation of Crimea and aggression in eastern Ukraine. These restrictive measures were repeatedly extended and expanded. In particular, the talks on visa waiver and a new basic agreement on cooperation were suspended; several Russia's officials were banned to travel to the EU while their assets were attached. Trade, financial, and military restrictions were introduced.Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n444620