EP President signs visa waiver for Ukraine

украина соглашение ассоциация евросоюз

President of the European Parliament Antonio Tajani has signed a document allowing Ukrainian citizens traveling to the EU without visa.

As reported by Censor.NET citing Ukrainski Novyny, the agreement was signed in Strasbourg, France, on May 17.

The document was also signed by Minister of Home Affairs and National Security of Malta Carmelo Abela since this country holds presidency of the Council of the European Union. Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko took part in the signing ceremony as well.

Watch more: "Europe has become closer to you. Travel to European Union without visas," - Head of the EU Delegation in Ukraine Mingarelli. VIDEO

The decision on the visa-free travel will come into force after its publication in the official journal of the EU (approximately on May 22) simultaneously with the visa suspension mechanism. The visa waiver will actually become operational 20 days after its publication - approximately on June 11.

On May 11, the Council of the European Union adopted a resolution to grant Ukraine a visa-free regime with the EU.

Read more: Occupied Crimea and Donbas residents who obtained Russian, "DPR", "LPR" passports will noy enjoy visa liberalization with EU, - Presidential Administration

On April 26, the EU ambassadors approved a visa-free regime for Ukrainian citizens.

Earlier, the European Parliament voted to grant Ukraine visa liberalization with the EU. 521 MEPs supported the decision, 75 opposed it, 36 abstained.
Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n440230