EP endorses visa suspension mechanism for third countries' nationals, - journalist

The European Parliament has endorsed the mechanism designed to suspend visa-free travel for nationals of the third countries.

RFE/RL Brussels correspondent Rikard Jozwiak wrote on Twitter, Censor.NET reports. As reported, the European Parliament voted for granting visa-free travel for Georgia Feb. 2.

President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker later said Ukraine's visa-free travel to be decided by summer 2017.

On Dec. 7, 2016, the Permanent Representatives Committee (Coreper) confirmed, on behalf of the Council, the compromise text agreed with the European Parliament on a regulation to revise the suspension mechanism which can be applied to all existing visa liberalisation agreements.The agreement was reached between the Council, Parliament and Commission on the same day.

Read more: Ukraine, Turkey citizens to use internal passports while travelling within these countries, Minister Klimkin says

The possible grounds for suspension have been extended, and include a decrease in cooperation on readmission, a substantial increase in the refusal rate of readmission applications, including for third-country nationals in transit, and a substantial increase in the risk to public policy or internal security of the member states.

The suspension can be triggered by a notification of a member state or by the Commission. If a simple majority of member states notifies, the Commission will have to adopt an implementing decision temporarily suspending the exemption from the visa requirement for certain categories of nationals of the third country concerned for a period of 9 months.

If the circumstances persist, the Commission shall adopt (at the latest two months prior to the expiry of the 9 months) a delegated act temporarily suspending the visa waiver for a period of 18 months for all the nationals of the third country concerned.
Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n427954