Related materials:

 Obama Administration imposed/expanded sanctions against Russia under various pretexts 35 times, - Russian Foreign Ministry

U.S. President Barack Obama’s outgoing Administration imposed restrictions on Russia about 35 times. 172 Russians and 350 legal entities have been put on the Washington’s black list.

Spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Maria Zakharova told a briefing on Thursday, Censor.NET reports citing Interfax.

"Washington imposed and expanded restrictive measures of all sorts (...) against Russia under various pretexts about 35 times since 2014. 172 Russian citizens and 350 our legal entities, including major energy, military and financial enterprises are now on the U.S. black list," Zakharova said.

Read more: Obama extends sanctions on Russia by one year

According to the Russian Foreign Ministry spokesperson, the idea about Russia's aggressive stance, which has absolutely no grounds, was coined in order to justify sanctions policy.

Watch more: "Russia continues to occupy Ukrainian territory and meddle in Ukrainian affairs," - Obama. VIDEO

As previously reported, in 2014, the European Union, the United States and several other countries imposed sanctions against Russia in connection with the occupation of Crimea and aggression in eastern Ukraine. These restrictive measures were repeatedly extended and expanded. In particular, the talks on visa waiver and a new basic agreement on cooperation were suspended; several Russia's officials were banned to travel to the EU while their assets were attached. Trade, financial, and military restrictions were introduced.

The sanctions list included a total of 151 individuals and 37 entities. The sectoral sanctions were imposed against 20 Russian financial, oil-producing and defense companies.

Read more: Sanctions must stay as long as Russia fails on Minsk deal and Crimea's return, - Biden

The Russian Federation introduced a package of retaliation restrictions against the EU, the U.S., Australia, Canada, and Norway in August 2014. The so-called counter-sanctions prohibited imports of fruit, vegetables, as well as dairy and meat products to Russia from these countries for a one-year period.

Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n424036