US introduces sanctions against Russian MPs elected in occupied Crimea

The U.S. Department of Treasury has introduced sanctions against six so-called members of Russian State Duma (the parliament) that had been elected in occupied Crimea.

Censor.NET reports citing the agency's website.

The list includes the following 'collaborators' with the occupants: former deputy government head of Crimea Ruslan Balbek, MPs Konstantin Bakharev, Andrey Kozenko, Svetlana Savchenko, Pavel Shperos, and Dmitry Belik.

Read more: Putin, Trump discuss necessity for normalizing Russia-US relations

In September 2016 President Poroshenko asked ambassadors of the G7 and EU countries in Ukraine not to recognize the elections to the Russian Duma in occupied Crimea.

On Sept. 19, Ukraine's Verkhovna Rada recognized the election to the State Duma of Russia illegitimate due to voting in occupied Crimea and Sevastopol.

Nov. 8, finance ministers of the EU countries agreed on introduction of new individual sanctions against Russia due to Crimea occupation.

Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n414967