World, Incidents, Economics
Related materials:

 EU finance ministers agreed new sanctions against Crimean officials, - Reuters

European Union finance ministers agreed new targeted sanctions against Crimean officials on Tuesday. They were added to restrictive measures adopted after Russia's annexation of Crimea in 2014.

Slovakia's Finance Minister Peter Kazimir told a news conference at the end of a meeting of the Council of EU finance ministers, Censor.NET reports citing Reuters.

"The Council adopted new listings under the restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining Ukraine's territorial integrity," Peter Kazimir said.

Read more: Rada committee approves personal sanctions against 15 individuals, including Medvedchuk, Grigorishin, Firtash

He was replying to a question on whether new sanctions have been imposed on Crimean officials. Slovakia holds the rotating presidency of the EU until the end of the year.

Read more: Expanded Ukrainian sanctions against Russia came into force Oct. 31

As previously reported, in 2014, the European Union, the United States and several other countries imposed sanctions against Russia in connection with the occupation of Crimea and aggression in eastern Ukraine. These restrictive measures were repeatedly extended and expanded. In particular, the talks on visa waiver and a new basic agreement on cooperation were suspended; several Russia's officials were banned to travel to the EU while their assets were attached. Trade, financial, and military restrictions were introduced.

The sanctions list included a total of 151 individuals and 37 entities. The sectoral sanctions were imposed against 20 Russian financial, oil-producing and defense companies.

Read more: US, Europe united on Russia sanctions, - Kerry

The Russian Federation introduced a package of retaliation restrictions against the EU, the U.S., Australia, Canada, and Norway in August 2014. The so-called counter-sanctions prohibited imports of fruit, vegetables, as well as dairy and meat products to Russia from these countries for a one-year period.

Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n414110