Related materials:

 Putin suspends Russia-US plutonium disposition accord, names conditions for renewal

Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a decree suspending the 2010 agreement under which sides commit to destroy tonnes of weapons-grade material. Russian side named Washington not implementing it and current tensions in relations between the two countries as reasons behind the suspension.

Censor.NET reports citing Reuters.

Read more: "Russia ultimately doomed itself to isolation from civilized world," - PM Hroisman on Ukrainian journalist Sushchenko's arrest

As noted, the deal, signed in 2000 and made effective only in 2010, is suspended due to "the emergence of a threat to strategic stability and as a result of unfriendly actions by the United States of America towards the Russian Federation."

The preamble to the decree also states that Washington has failed "to ensure the implementation of its obligations to utilize surplus weapons-grade plutonium."

Among other steps the U.S. has to take for the renewal of the accord, the decree mentions the abolition of the Magnitsky Act as well as the 2014 anti-Russia law aimed at supporting the freedom of Ukraine, according to Interfax.

Read more: Rada Speaker proposes anti-Russian sanctions strengthening, revisiting visa regime introduction issue

One more condition is a compensation for the damage suffered by the Russian Federation as a result of the imposition of sanctions, "including losses from the introduction of forced counter measures against the United States."

The Russian side also insists that the United States provide a clear plan for plutonium disposition drawn up in line with the agreement.

Read more: "Those who want to combat terrorists do not attack hospitals," - Steinmeier on bombings of Aleppo

As previously reported, in 2014, the European Union, the United States and several other countries imposed sanctions against Russia in connection with the occupation of Crimea and aggression in eastern Ukraine. These restrictive measures were repeatedly extended and expanded. In particular, the talks on visa waiver and a new basic agreement on cooperation were suspended; several Russia's officials were banned to travel to the EU while their assets were attached. Trade, financial, and military restrictions were introduced.

The sanctions list included a total of 151 individuals and 37 entities. The sectoral sanctions were imposed against 20 Russian financial, oil-producing and defense companies.

The Russian Federation introduced a package of retaliation restrictions against the EU, the U.S., Australia, Canada, and Norway in August 2014. The so-called counter-sanctions prohibited imports of fruit, vegetables, as well as dairy and meat products to Russia from these countries for a one-year period.
Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n408783