Related materials:

 US ready for another expansion of Russia sanctions list

The U.S. authorities are intent on expanding the list of entities subject to certain restrictions.

Censor.NET reports referring to a document by the U.S. Department of Commerce scheduled for official release on Wednesday, Sept. 7.

As noted, the United States will update the so-called Entity List with 81 entities under 86 entries. Of these, 75 are related to Russia, another seven to Crimea, two more to Hong Kong and India.

Such Russia-based companies as Angstrem-M, Giovan Ltd., Joint Stock Company Angstrem, Joint Stock Company Angstrem-T, Joint Stock Company Foreign Economic Association (FEA) Radioexport, Joint Stock Company Perm Scientific Industrial Instrument-Making Company (PNPPK), Joint Stock Company Mikron, Joint Stock Company Research and Production Company Micran, NPC Granat, Technopole Company, and Technopole Ltd. are mentioned in the document.

As also reported, the Entity List identifies entities and other persons reasonably believed to be involved in, or that pose a significant risk of being or becoming involved in, activities that are contrary to the national security or foreign policy of the United States. The department imposes additional licensing requirements on, and limits the availability of most license exceptions for, exports, reexports, and transfers (in-country) to those persons or entities listed on the Entity List.

More than 50 Gazprom subsidiaries are bound by additional licensing requirements.

"License applications for the fifty-one Russian subsidiaries will be reviewed with a presumption of denial," the document notes.

Read more: Leaders of EU countries to consider extension of economic sanctions against Russia in October, - Mogherini

As previously reported, in 2014, the European Union, the United States and several other countries imposed sanctions against Russia in connection with the occupation of Crimea and aggression in eastern Ukraine. These restrictive measures were repeatedly extended and expanded. In particular, the talks on visa waiver and a new basic agreement on cooperation were suspended; several Russia's officials were banned to travel to the EU while their assets were attached. Trade, financial, and military restrictions were introduced.

The sanctions list included a total of 151 individuals and 37 entities. The sectoral sanctions were imposed against 20 Russian financial, oil-producing and defense companies.

The Russian Federation introduced a package of retaliation restrictions against the EU, the U.S., Australia, Canada, and Norway in August 2014. The so-called counter-sanctions prohibited imports of fruit, vegetables, as well as dairy and meat products to Russia from these countries for a one-year period.
Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n404798