Related materials:

 EU to extend anti-Russian sanctions for another six months without much deliberation, - Radіo Svoboda

Next week, the ambassadors of the European Union are going to make a decision on the extension of visa restrictions and attachment of assets imposed against 146 citizens of Russia and 37 Russian entities responsible for the violation of Ukraine's territorial integrity according to the EU.

The sources of Radіo Svoboda from among the EU officials informed that the decision to extend sanctions for six months will be taken without much deliberation on the eve of the deadline on Sept. 15, Censor.NET reports.

Read more: Situation in Donbas significantly deteriorated in summer, made it hard to dwell on lifting sanctions against Russia, Germany's Merkel says

The sanctions impact entities in Crimea and members of the illegal armed groups of the Russian-backed militants in eastern Ukraine, as well as the Russian politicians and public men including Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin and TV presenter Dmitry Kiselyov, who is known as the Kremlin' strongest advocate.

Read more: Sanctions against Russia must continue, - Linkevičius

March 10, 2016, the European Union extended sanctions imposed against 146 citizens of Russia and 37 Russian entities in connection with the violation of the territorial integrity of Ukraine. The visa restrictions and assets freeze were extended until Sept. 15, 2016.

As previously reported, in 2014, the European Union, the United States and several other countries imposed sanctions against Russia in connection with the occupation of Crimea and aggression in eastern Ukraine. These restrictive measures were repeatedly extended and expanded. In particular, the talks on visa waiver and a new basic agreement on cooperation were suspended; several Russia's officials were banned to travel to the EU while their assets were attached. Trade, financial, and military restrictions were introduced.

Read more: US House Foreign Affairs Committee adopts bill stiffening sanctions against Russia

The sanctions list included a total of 151 individuals and 37 entities. The sectoral sanctions were imposed against 20 Russian financial, oil-producing and defense companies.

The Russian Federation introduced a package of retaliation sanctions against the EU, the U.S., Australia, Canada, and Norway in August 2014. The so-called counter-sanctions prohibited imports of fruit, vegetables, as well as dairy and meat products to Russia from these countries for a one-year period.
Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n403940