World, Incidents

 Ukraine elected UN SC non-permanent member

Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay were elected on Thursday to the UN Security Council during an uncontested vote held at the General Assembly.

Censor.NET reports citing AFP.

The five countries ran unopposed for the non-permanent seats after regional groups put them forward as their choice, but the contenders still had to garner two-thirds of votes cast.

Applause and cheers broke out in the assembly hall after first results showed Senegal had won the largest share, picking up 187 votes followed by Uruguay which garnered 185.

Read more: Ukraine expected to win UN Security Council seat despite Russian campaign against it, - AP

Egypt won 179 votes and Ukraine 177 in the 193-nation assembly.

The newly-elected members will begin their two-year stint on January 1, replacing Chad, Chile, Jordan, Lithuania and Nigeria.

They will join the other five non-permanent council members: Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela.

The election to the Security Council came as UN diplomacy has been overshadowed by tensions with Russia and bloodshed in the Middle East.

Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n356424