Moldova, Azerbaijan and Georgia condemned the occupation of Crimea in Riga Summit Declaration. Armenia and Belarus refused

Armenia and Belarus refused to condemn the annexation of Crimea in the declaration of the summit in Riga.

Armenia and Belarus have confirmed their position on the annexation of Crimea, which they expressed in the voting for the resolution of the UN General Assembly, the final declaration of the Eastern Partnership summit notes, Censor.NET reports citing lb.ua.

Read also: Nobody has the right to block the European integration of EU's Eastern neighbors - Merkel

"The summit participants firmly support all efforts to de-escalate the situation and find a political solution, which is based on the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine ... The EU reiterates its position fixed in a joint statement on the results of EU-Ukraine summit on April 27, including condemnation of the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol. The summit confirmed its position as expressed in the vote of the UN General Assembly resolution 68/262 regarding the territorial integrity of Ukraine," the declaration stated.

Read also: Poroshenko: Final Declaration of Eastern Partnership summit is ready

This resolution, which condemns the annexation of Crimea by Russia, was supported by four of the six Eastern European countries of the Eastern Partnership - Ukraine, Moldova, Azerbaijan and Georgia. Armenia and Belarus voted against.

Azerbaijan refused to sign the declaration, but was eventually persuaded to. There were reports that Azerbaijan refused to sign the declaration of the Riga summit due to the wording on Crimea, but President of Petro Poroshenko said that the complaints were related to other matters.

Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n337207