World, Ukrainian Politics

 EU countries statement on Russian decree enabling simplified issuing of passports in Donbas: attack on Ukraine's sovereignty

The European Union countries consider that the Russian decree enabling the simplified issuing of passports in occupied areas of Ukraine's Donetsk and Luhansk regions is another attack on Ukraine's sovereignty, which violates the Minsk agreements and raises global concerns.

Censor.NET reports citing Interfax.

Permanent Representative of France to the United Nations François Delattre stated this on Thursday on behalf of Germany, France, Belgium, Great Britain, Italy, the Netherlands and Sweden. The statement has been posted on the website of the European Union.

"The timing of such a decision immediately after Ukraine’s Presidential election, which demonstrated Ukraine's strong attachment to democracy and the rule of law, shows Russia’s intention to further destabilise Ukraine and to exacerbate the conflict," reads the statement.

Also, the European Union called on Russia "to refrain from actions that are against the Minsk agreements and impede the full reintegration of the non-Government controlled areas into Ukraine". Also, it was once again stressed that "all parties must fully implement their commitments under the Minsk agreements."

"The European Union remains steadfast in its support to Ukraine's independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity," reads the statement.

April 24, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree that allows residents of the occupied territories of Donetsk and Luhansk regions in eastern Ukraine to obtain Russian passports under a simplified procedure.

Ukraine has appealed to the UN Security Council in connection with the introduction by Russian President Vladimir Putin of a simplified procedure for issuing Russian passports to the residents of certain regions of Donetsk and Luhansk regions (ORDLO). 

Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n3124393