Ukraine, Montenegro, Albania, Norway extend sanctions against Russia, - EU Council

Ukraine, Montenegro, Albania and Norway have joined the EU's extended sanctions against Russia that were imposed over the violation of the territorial integrity of Ukraine.

EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini said in a statement on Oct. 22, Censor.NET reports.

According to the statement, the mentioned countries joined the decision of the EU Council of Sept. 12, 2018 to prolong the restrictive measures against Russia until March 15, 2019.

"The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, align themselves with this declaration," Mogherini said.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council decision.

"The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it," she said.

In September, the European Union extended personal restrictive measures against Russian individuals and entities involved view of the continuing undermining or threatening of the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.

These measures concern asset freezes and travel bans. Sanctions have currently been applied to 155 individuals and 44 legal entities.

Источник: https://censor.net.ua/en/n3092730